Top 10 Post Valentine’s Day Break Up Songs

Broken Heart

Let’s face it folks.  Love doesn’t always bloom on Valentine’s Day.  Sometimes it’s crushed when love goes bad.  Elvis and Priscilla divorced October 9, 1973, though they never really stopped loving each other.  Who walks out of divorce court holding hands?

If you are one of the poor souls whose heart was broken over, during, after, or maybe before Valentine’s Day, I’ve picked out a top ten list of Elvis songs to assuage your pain or make it worse.  However, inspiration can spring from heartbreak.  Let the songs mend your broken heart and inspire you until you find your [next] one true love.  (Some of us just can’t get it right the first time.)

If that doesn’t work, then cry.  Cry, cry, cry.

Top Ten

stupid-cupid210.  Funny How Time Slips Away

How’s your new love,
I hope that he’s doin’ fine
Heard you told him, yes baby
That you’d love him til the end of time
Well you know, that’s the same thing
that you told me
Well it seems like just the other day
Mmm, ain’t it funny how time slips away

09.  I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry

The silence of a falling star
Lights up a purple sky
I’m so lonesome I could cry

08.  My Baby Left Me

Yes, my baby left me, never said a word
Was is something I done, something that she heard?
My baby left me, my baby left me
My baby even left me, never said a word

07.  Only the Strong Survive

Well, I wouldn’t let that little girl
No, I wouldn’t let her know she made me feel like a clown
There’s a whole lotta girls lookin’ for a good man like you
Oh, but you’ll never meet ’em if you give up now
And say, your life is through

06.  I’m Movin’ On

Well I told you baby from time to time
But you just wouldn’t listen or pay me no mind
And I’m movin’ on, I’m rollin’ on
I’m through with you, too bad you’re blue
But I’m movin’ on

05.  Heartbreak Hotel

Well, since my baby left me
I found a new place to dwell
It’s down the end of Lonely Street
 at Heartbreak Hotel

04.  I Can’t Stop Loving You

I can’t stop loving you
I’ve made up my mind
To live in memory
Of such a lonely time

03.  Separate Ways

There’s nothing left to do, but go our separate ways
And pick up all the pieces left behind us
And maybe someday, somewhere along the way
Another love will find us

02.  You’ve Lost that Lovin’ Feeling

There’s no tenderness in your eyes
When I reach out for you
Girl, you’re starting to criticize
Every little thing I do
It makes me feel like crying
‘Cause baby, something beautiful is dying

01.  Fool

Fool, you didn’t have to hurt her
Fool, you didn’t have to lose her
Fool, you only had to love her
But now her love is gone

Fool, you could have made her want you
Fool, you could have made her love you
Fool, you only had to love her
But now her love is gone

Gone now, the love and laughter
See yourself the morning after
Can’t you see her eyes are misty
As she said good-bye

Fool, you didn’t have to hurt her
Fool, you didn’t have to lose her
Fool, you only had to love her
But now her love is gone

Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh
Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh
Fool, you only had to love her
But now her love is gone

Fool, you could have made her want you
Fool, you could have made her love you
Fool, you only had to love her
But now her love is gone

Fool, you didn’t have to hurt her
Fool, you didn’t have to lose her
Fool, you only had to love her

Folks, that’s the list.  It’s all beautiful, inspirational poetry to ponder as the tears fall down your cheeks.  Of course, there are hundreds of other songs that we could list, but these are the ones which seem to fit the post Valentine’s Day blues.

Leave a Reply

