I Love Tribute Bands

TEMECULA, CA.  It has been years since I’ve been in the music scene.  My music knowledge stops around 1994 just after Kirk Cobain committed suicide.  Other things took precedent such as career, marriage, children and keeping up on music was put on the backburner of memory.  My son is now a young adult, I’m successfully entrenched in my finance career, and both of these things have allowed me and my wife to get back into the music scene.  It all started at Disneyland with Scot Bruce’s tribute to Elvis and we’ve been loving it ever since!  We’re like two teenagers reliving our youth chasing bands like groupies.

I’m not really interested in new music, though I enjoy American Idol, but that is the limit of my new music artists which keeps me informed of what is playing on the airwaves these days.  I’ve discovered I really like rockabilly.  However, like many 40-somethings it is the music of my youth I want to hear again from the 1970s-1980s, especially the 80s and, of course, Elvis.  This yearning for youthful nostalgia is met with discovering tribute bands.  There are a lot of them and I love them.

My friend, Les Allen, pays tribute to Dwight Yoakam with his band, Dwight Lightning.  They are a great band of talented musicians and Les really rocks Dwight Yoakam’s hits. He also loves tribute bands, too, and started a new Facebook group called I Love Tribute Bands.  I had no idea there were so many tribute bands.

The site posts tribute bands playing from all genres from all over the country.  Some tribute bands are really successful and tour the country and sometimes around the world.  It seems a lot of people love tribute bands.

Les Allen as Dwight Yoakam

If you’re yearning for the music from your youth check out the Facebook page, join it, share your experiences, and look for a tribute band playing near you.

Leave a Reply

